The Feelings of Feelings …

Even the Strongest Hearts are very Fragile.
I used to think being too Sensitive – has been of the most difficult things in my Life. I used to feel strange that I felt things, that left every one else around me unaffected.
When I was little – I used to think there was something wrong with me.
And I was too afraid to share what I thought, so I would become quiet – and simply withdraw. Go sit in a corner. Dive into the World of Books, and just try and shut my feelings.
I became afraid of sharing my feelings. Or even writing them down.
I became a quiet observer.
A “Part” – yet Apart -From everything around me.
As if I was Looking at Life through a Window. Outside – Looking in.
Not understanding what I was going through –
Maybe trying to Detach – by making a shell around myself;
Yet – So aware – of everything – and wanting to Be IN there.

And I carried this with me when I grew up.
It took a long time before I learned that it was okay to feel.
It was okay to feel sadness, to be afraid, lonely, to want a hug, to want to be able to just run out and taste the Raindrops.
That it was okay to want to ask questions and it was okay to want to be able to talk about seemingly silly things.
Sensitivity is a gift … and empathy for others is a Blessing.
Please – never ever take someone’s feelings for granted.
Sometimes even the simplest question can be a plea – a deep yearning that can comfort, support and change a Life.
And Sometimes, the greatest Gift you can to give someone is the presence of your Loving Soul and a heart that is willing to Listen.

So when you Give – Give of yourself.
You just might change a Life forever.
Sometimes with a Kind word.
A Simple Smile.
Or just a Little Hug. ♥

~ Kiran Shaikh

~ by backtowardslight on May 19, 2012.

3 Responses to “The Feelings of Feelings …”

  1. Wow, that was so much what I felt as a child.

  2. I’m so glad I found you’re words. I thought i was alone in what I felt. You’re posts have embraced my heart.

  3. I really love this post and can really relate to it. Love and light to you my friend 🙂 Debbie Golightly

Leave a Reply

 
